musings

Being Called?

Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms. 1 Peter 4:10 (NIV)

Being “called” to something, what does that mean? What it doesn’t mean? For me it used to always sound like you should be serving with your gift in something like Preaching, or on a worship band, or doing missions. And is something that I struggled with up until a few years ago.  

I always thought that in order to serve others I should be in “ministry proper” but 

1) I don’t like talking to large crowds, strangers, people in passing, 
2) I love my music, but there is always someone better than I — or so I feel,  
3) honestly, I have never experienced a missions trip where I felt like I helped

and with those feelings started my university career with the intent to become a pediatrician; because if I couldn’t minister then I should do something that would help others…. right? Boy, was I ever wrong. 

November of my second year of university, I remember being in tears with my mother on the phone and her telling me that I was not allowed to drop out, that I am to stay and figure out what the next step was. With a whole bunch of stuff happening in between (which I will hopefully get a chance to talk about later) I am sitting here today very confident and thankful that my mother told me to stick it out. 

I can now come to you and confidently say being called has nothing to do with having official training in ministry, or leading worship, or taking part in a specific missions trip. All of these are great, but what we need to focus on is that whatever gift we are given, we can be serving God with it. I now see that my gifts (and pure excitement) for accounting and children are what I have been given to share, maybe with my church, maybe just as a person that people know they can trust with their company’s information or their little family members. Whatever the case, these are what I have been given and it is my job to make sure that they are used in a way that will glorify Him. 

 I pray that your hearts will be flooded with light 
so that you can understand the confident hope 
he has given to those he called—his holy people 
who are his rich and glorious inheritance.
– Ephesians 1:18 (NLT)
Leave a Reply

