musings

Focus?

Focus… something I clearly have been lacking seeing as my last post has been almost a month ago (and I may or may not have several posts started but none done)

I don’t know about you, but when I get busy any chance to focus on anything is completely gone.  Most times I end up getting busy and then adding more and more to my schedule until I take a step back and realize that I either need to cut back on what I am doing or only sleep a couple hours each night until things are done.

I usually do a bit of both.

Writing to you here is probably one of those little projects I picked up on the way. But hopefully this will help me recognize (and maybe learn from) the patterns of when I lose my focus. And maybe we will be able to learn together different tips and tricks on staying focused.

I like to have accountability so when I know I have to get something done I will tell a few people so that when they ask how it is going I know that I will have something to tell them – even if it is not details – I hate telling someone that I haven’t looked at, or started something.

I am also a big fan of lists. There is something to be said for being able to cross things off… or delete something… there is a sense of accomplishment at the end of it, I would argue more than when a project is actually completed.

What are some things that you do to keep focused? Anything that makes your focus worse?

One thought on “Focus?

  1. To help focus I put things on a calendar. For work, I check in via chat to let others know what I am working on. I find assigning a night to do something (eg. Tues night is date night) helps with keeping focus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

