cooking

The Birthday Cake

My goodness, has it really been over a month since I have sat down to write something??

I couldn’t believe it when I logged on; I had been doing relatively well the past month and then completely zonked out, geesh. I am going to blame it on, well, life.  I made myself way to busy and things got dropped, and forgotten, I’m sorry. But, here we are back again and I am really excited to share what I have with you today!

Last month was a friend’s birthday party – a Murder Mystery, which was a blast! – and I got to make the cake =) What kind of cake you ask? Well… It was a Mint Chocolate Cake from Shugary Sweets and it went over swimmingly. I personally enjoyed the fact that it tasted very much like the chocolate mint Girl Guide cookies.

*Disclaimer*  This was eaten for a birthday and therefor has no calories ~wink~~wink~

First, I was so excited to make this thing I actually gathered all (well most) of my ingredients before I actually started to make the cake… If anyone has ever seen me bake something before, I am typically going though every cabinet possible while making something. I will blame it on the lack of counter space. Yes. That’s it.

Next I started the cake, by first mixing the coffee and milk together, and then separately mixing the dry ingredients together, all while my Kitchen Aid was beating the sugar and butter together.

The novelty of this Christmas gift has far from dissipated

Once the butter/sugar was creamed (approx. 5 min), I added the eggs and then alternated between the coffee mix and dry ingredients – ending with the dry ingredients.

Once it was all mixed the cake batter was placed in greased and floured pans and were ready for the oven

After letting the cakes cool, I made the green mint chip icing and iced the suckers. – The recipe made a TON of icing and I can’t figure out if it is because I didn’t actually make a layered cake or if it is because someone knew the icing was so good that they just wanted to leave some so that you could eat it later.

 

And then  to top it off I drizzled the chocolate ganache over the two separate layers.

Here’s the full recipe:
(Again, I took the original from Shugary Sweets)

For the cake 
1/2 cup    Softened butter
1 1/2 cup Sugar
2              Eggs
1/2 cup    Cooled brewed coffee
1/2 cup     Milk
1 1/2 cup  Flour
9 TBSP    Unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp     Salt
1    tsp     Baking powder

– In mixer, beat butter and sugar until smooth (~ 5 min.), meanwhile,
– In medium bowl, sift cocoa, flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder together
– In measuring cup, mix coffee and milk together
– Once butter and sugar are smooth add eggs one at a time, then alternate adding dry mix and coffee mix
– In two 9 inch pans that have been greased and floured, add batter, bake at 350 for about 25 min.
-Once done, allow to cool for 10 min before removing from pans, and completely cool before icing.

For the frosting
1 cup        Softened butter
8 cup        Icing sugar
1/2 tsp      Peppermint extract
1/2 cup + 2 TBSP Milk
11 oz        Dark chocolate chunks (1 bag crushed)
Green food coloring – gel or “neon” liquid

– In food processor, pulse dark chocolate until in small bits – not powder- and set aside.
*I did not do this and regret that decision. This recipe would be best with flakes of chocolate, not chunks
– In mixer, beat butter, icing sugar and milk until smooth and creamy (~3-5 min), add in extract and food coloring and mix until fully blended.
– Fold in dark chocolate bits

 For the Ganache
3/4 cup     Blended Cream
1 1/2 cup  Semisweet chocolate morsels
1/4 tsp      Peppermint extract

– Heat blended cream in saucepan, bringing just to a boil (watch carefuly!)
– Slowly pour over chocolate morsels and extract and mix until completely combined.
– Pour over cake and voila!

Leave a Reply

