cooking · musings

First Post from the new House!

…. And it’s not about the new house. Sorry. That’s still coming together -both the post…and the house. This is my kitchen table right now

So as I am writing this as I am eating breakfast on the couch, which is what I want to share with you.

Breakfast, they tell me, is the most important meal of the day. I rarely eat one. Mostly because coffee is my number 1 priority, but also because if I try to eat anything my stomach feels sick until lunch. But today I was STARVING! So I decided to make something…. it had to be quick, and not sweet, and not full of the list of things that I can’t eat ( which seems to be getting longer every day).

Anywho, I think I did it, while making, my second cup of coffee I made this

It’s a super quick chocolate oatmeal.

I followed the direction on the bag of oats for microwave oatmeal.

– 1cup cold water with a pinch of salt
– stir in 1/3 cup oats gradually
– place in microwave for 1.5 – 2 minutes, stirring at 1 minute
– stir again once done and let sit for 1 minute.

Once it sat for the minute it was still fairly hot so this is where I got creative.
I added a tablespoon of brown sugar (so that it’s not too bitter) and a small handful of dark chocolate (I used a 76% yum!)

Stir together and enjoy!

Like I said earlier, I don’t can’t do sweet in the morning, and this very much agrees with that, so if you are looking for a sweeter treat for a Saturday morning you will have to adjust for that when adding your mix-ins.

Leave a Reply

