Family · Wifey Wednesdays

Wifey Wednesday: Support

Last week I read a blog post and  it awakened something in me. The blog post that I read was from blogger Fawn from The Happy Wives Club  who posted the Girlfriends’ Guide to a Great Marriage. She talked about 3 easy, and very practical ways, to strengthen marriages around you and I want to encourage you to read it.  Reading this post, along with the current bible study I have been working though made me realize that I have a lot to say around marriage and I want to share it with you. 

Now I have had a HORRIBLE habit of starting projects on here and not following through, but I made sure that I have things planned out and started and scheduled and … well I hope that you enjoy these next few weeks of Wifey Wednesday! (can you hear my excitement?)

First let me say that I am not an expert, my specialty (aside from procrastination) is numbers, lists and things that make pretty charts in excel. However, since getting married over a year and a half ago I made the decision to search and grow, and do all that I can to be the best wife to my husband that I can be.

I started  to search, to read, and talk about what it means to be Christian wife. I have found so many things to be helpful, I have learned SO much and I want to share it all with you, I want to encourage you! 

Last week, the Good Morning Girls focused their bible study on Marriage, each day we focused on a different Bible verse, but Thursday they too touched on support. 

3 Likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good.4 Then they can urge the younger women to love their husbands and children, Titus 2:3-4[NIV]

…Then they can urge the younger women to love their husbands and children.

I have found that surrounding myself with married women has been a HUGE encouragement! Hearing stories, talking about great times and harder times, praying and commiserating helps. They are also there to remind you of the commitment you made and to help you with ways to fulfill that promise. The support that comes from these ladies that you surround yourself with is beyond words. 

If you are looking for support I encourage you to reach out.  Reach out to friends, family, wives of the church. I am sure they will be honored to be there for you.

Another thing that has been so helpful is reading.  I have heard of so many helpful books, so many encouraging books, devotionals for couples, words of encouragement for wives… so many; but I need to be 100% honest.  I haven’t picked up a book to read for pleasure since, well, since the summer I wanted a “light” read and read all four books of the Twilight series when they first came out. 

BUT 

I always have my phone, I have the laptop at home, the computer at work and I am always reading blogs. I have found several wives and mothers who have SO much encouragement. SO MUCH! I love reading these blogs because they feel so much more personal than a book (though a few of these ladies have recently published books that I am very interested in reading.)These ladies are talking about what they are going through during the days as well as giving great advice and words of encouragement throughout the process. They are always having guest bloggers writing on a particular topic and then I add their blogs to the ones I read on a regular basis and it is great!

I encourage you to take a look, find some writers that speak to you, if you need a starting place take a look at some of these amazing bloggers:

Women Living Well
The Happy Wives Club
Unveiled Wife

Nitty Gritty Love

What are some ways you find encouragement in your marriage? Any favorite books or bloggers?



Leave a Reply

