Family

Mother’s Day as a Trach Mom

First off I want to wish all the lovely Mothers, Grandmothers, Great-Grandmothers, Mothers-to-be a wonderful Mother’s Day. I hope that you are showered with love from your families near and far!

Mother's Day

If you have been following along this month you know that this month is the month to raise awareness about trachs and trach life.  This year, the start of Global Tracheotomy Awareness Week is Mother’s Day.

When you have a child with a trach (or really with any medical complexities) there is a chance that you have spent at least one Mother’s Day in the hospital.

For me it was my very first Mother’s Day that I  celebrated in the hospital, and this year — probably because I’ve been writing about trach life — I have been really thinking about what that first Mother’s Day was like.

And I have to admit, it didn’t feel real.

I had Mother’s day wishes coming from family and friends, but I also got wishes from nurses who had spent more time with my little man than I had.

But really it was just one more day of the NICU (Neonatal Intensive Care Unit). It was Sunday, so  Jarrod and I would go to church, then head to the hospital to hang out with the little man, see how the night went and then it was a nice day out, so Jarrod and I were actually eating lunch on a patio with friends.  After lunch we went back to the hospital and cuddled our little man some more before we headed home for the night.

IMG_20150510_124603-2.jpg
Oh my! Look at that squishy face 😀

So even though that year in 2015 may not have felt like a “real” Mother’s day, I was still showered with love and enjoyed my day hanging out with my two favourite men and that is what I need to focus on. Because when it comes down to it, being the best Mom I could be that year was having Mr. C at the hospital being cared for by the best medical team in the Maritimes, so that I could spend many more Mother’s Days with him at home.

And now look at the little gentleman I get to spend my day with today! Love him to bits!!!!!

IMG_20170506_134755Carmen - Blog

 

 

 

If you are wondering how you can help, I would love to encourage you to join the Mom’s of Trach Babies- Global Tracheostomy Tube Awareness Week Facebook page to hear others stories and see more information specific to a trach, and maybe consider purchasing the Jamberry Wraps I have designed specifically for this week (Available in the US and Canada), with a portion of the sales going to Mom’s of Trach Babies to help with prizes designed with our trach kids in mind, as well as to help get trach supplies to those who need help getting them.

17191342_1267962073289864_8761500847748253943_n

Leave a Reply

